Lighting the Way to a Cure

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Dec 19, 2021 @ 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

GenZ Calendar Feature

4:00 PM ET | 3:00 PM CT | 2:00 PM MT | 1:00 PM PT

This is the virtual meeting of the GenZ of FSHD group, for people with FSHD who were born after the mid-1990s (with some wiggle room). It is open to people from everywhere who are in this age group. Our purpose is to discuss topics of interest to those at this stage in life, and to have fun together. We respectfully ask everyone to abide by our age guidelines. Thank you!

At this month’s meeting, we have invited two of our members, Justin Cohen, PhD, and Ben Brittain, who is in a PhD program, to present “FSHD 101.”  The presentation will cover clinical aspects and an overview of FSHD mechanisms/genetics, followed by Q&A and discussion time. Do you have questions about pursuing a career in research of medicine? Justin and Ben would be great guys to ask.

Justin Cohen, PhD, is a Postdoctoral Associate in the Lek Lab. He completed his BS at Tufts University and his PhD in the Molecular, Cell Biology and Genetics program at Drexel University. Now in the Lek laboratory at Yale School of Medicine, Justin studies facioscapulohumeral muscular dystrophy (FSHD), a topic close to his heart as he is also a patient. Justin is hopeful that his work in the lab will contribute towards a therapy for all FSHD patients.

Ben Brittain, MS, grew up in Tampa, Florida, and graduated from the University of South Florida with undergraduate degrees in Biochemistry & Cell and Molecular Biology. He completed a master’s degree in Medical Microbiology from the University of Florida before beginning his Ph.D. work at the University of Nevada, Reno. He is currently a graduate research assistant in the lab of Drs. Peter and Takako Jones.

RSVP

Details

Date:
Dec 19, 2021
Time:
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Event Category: