Lighting the Way to a Cure

Loading Events

Webinar on scapular stabilization surgery

Aug 20 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

FSHD University Logo
Dr. Anthony Romeo
Dr. Anthony Romeo

NOTE CHANGE OF DATE. Join us for our webinar on scapular stabilization surgery at 1:00 pm ET | 12:00 pm CT | 11:00 am MT | 10:00 am PT.

One of the classic symptoms of FSHD is “scapular winging.” The muscles around the shoulder blade (scapula) weaken and allow the bone to jut out like an angel’s wing. This can cause pain and prevent a person from being able to raise the arm. A solution that works for some patients is surgery to attach the scapula to the rib cage. Dr. Anthony Romeo, a leading expert in this procedure, will discuss how it works. He’ll talk about what type of patients are good candidates, and what the recovery entails.

About Anthony Romeo, MD

Dr. Romeo currently serves as the Chief of Orthopedics for Rothman Orthopedic Institute’s New York division. He is a distinguished orthopedic surgeon with over 20 years of experience working in academic medicine. Lifelong interests in science and sports have led Dr. Romeo to the use of the most advanced methods of restoring function of injured and arthritic shoulders and elbows in addition to treating sports related injuries and conditions. Dr. Romeo has designed and developed innovative advanced shoulder replacement systems for the treatment of arthritis. He is a renowned scholar who has authored over 300 peer-reviewed journal articles and thirty chapters in orthopedic textbooks. Moreover, he has served as senior editor on several orthopedics and sports medicine books and is the Chief Medical Editor of Orthopedics Today. He has lectured extensively on advanced surgical techniques to surgeons at both national and international forums.

He received his Medical Degree from the St. Louis University School of Medicine. He completed his residency in orthopedic surgery at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation in Ohio, and his shoulder and elbow surgery fellowship at the University of Washington Medical Center in Seattle.

To get your personalized link to attend the webinar, click below.